Siem Reap and Angkor of Cambodia (II)(吴哥窟-柬埔寨)

Angkor Wat, one of the largest religious monuments in the world.  It occupies an area approximately 402 acres. This temple was built by King Suryavarman II of the Khmer Kingdom in the early 12th century dedicated to the Hindu God Vishnu.  Later, during the reign of King Jayavarman VII, it was transformed into a Buddhist temple.  

20180216_161628
Approaching Angkor Wat Temple Area, one can feel the grandness of this place just like during the 12th century.
20180216_172924
Inside the main temple is even more spectacular. The four towers of each corner and the highest center tower (43 meters high) represents Mt. Meru which is believed to be the center of the universe by Buddhism and Hinduism. Cambodians are very proud of this temple building which even found a place on the Cambodian flag.
20180216_162724
Entrances to the temple grounds. The main entrance was for the royals and the side entrances were for the animals and entourages
IMAG0416
This used to be the library.
IMAG0418
This used to be the bathing area before entering the temple.
20180216_163238-COLLAGE
Carvings of Aspara dancers on the walls and decorative roofs surround the temple buildings
IMAG0432-COLLAGE
The walls of the corridor depicting battle stories
IMAG0423-COLLAGE
The top of the towers was the actual place where the praying practice occurs. The King needs to climb all the way to the top on hands and knees. Only the one with the handrails and re-enforced steps were opened for tourist.

Another temple in the area of Angkor is Banteay Srei.  This temple was first built in the 10th century by not of the royals but by the king’s counselor a scholar and philanthropist.  The temple used to be in the center of a Khmer village.  Therefore it is of the same size and height as the other Khmer dwellings.  The temple was dedicated to the Hindu God, “Shiva”.20180216_143456

IMAG0379 (1)
The temple was mainly built of red sandstones with elaborate decorative cravings as well as many cravings of devatas. So its modern name became Banteay Srei, meaning “Citadel of Women or Beauty”.

The temple not just suffered from natural erosion but also from looting and pilfering for its beautiful pieces. Attempts were being made to restore with as many of the original pieces as possible and made replicas of many pieces of artworks so that the original may be put in the National Museum for safekeeping.

20180216_143302-COLLAGE
close view of the temple and elaborate decorative cravings

Note:  In Cambodia, one can survive on fruits.  They are not just healthy and delicious.  They are also pleasing to the eyes.

Advertisements

Siem Reap and Angkor of Cambodia (I)(吴哥城-柬埔寨)

IMAG0450
Greeting dance,  Apsara Dancer
20180216_183152
Greeting dance -Apsara dancer
IMAG0468
Royal Residence

20180217_125557

20180217_124638-COLLAGE
An ornate Buddhist temple.

Siem Reap is a resort city of Cambodia, a gateway to Angkor, an important and largest UNESCO archeological site.  Angkor used to be the capital of the Khmer Kingdom during the 9th to 14th century.  The 400 sq. kilometers of Angkor area consists of monuments, temples,  residence, with features of different ancient urban plans, such as water reservoirs, hydraulic structures as basins, dykes, canals, and communication routes,  as well as its architectural and artistic significance, that can attest to an ancient civilization for several centuries unique to Southeast Asia.

Angkor Thom was the last capital of Khmer Kingdom built by King Jayavarman VII in the 12th century.

20180216_090727
Enter Angkor Thom via the causeway across the Siem Reap River and under the South Gate(Victory Gate)
20180216_085826-COLLAGE
One may also take an elephant ride to Angkor Thom. Aligned on both side of the causeway is a seven-headed Naga which is a celestial being with a snakelike body and human head. Riding on it are Devas along the left side of the causeway and Asuras along the right side of the causeway.

Bayon, the state temple of Angkor Thom, situated in the center of Angkor Thom.  It was first built by King  Jayavarman VII the first Mahayana Buddhism King, in the 12th century and late 13th century.  Bayon was first built as a Mahayana Buddhism Temple but later it was modified to accommodate Hinduism and Theravada Buddhism.  Most notable are the serene faces on top of all the pointed towers.

IMAG0316 (1)
The temple does not seem to have its own walls or moats to define its area. It is only surrounded by enclosures of three layer of galleries. Center tower rises 43 meters above ground.
IMAG0285-EFFECTS-COLLAGE
All towers have these faces carved on top, up to approximately 400. It has been said that these faces are of Bodhisattva Avalokitesvara or Lokesvara or even King Jayavarman VII himself. People also noted that the most sincere smile is the picture of the lower right.
20180216_093237-COLLAGE
decorative carvings on the towers
IMAG0277-COLLAGE
Carvings on the columns and walls of the galleries are dancers and stories of life during the Khmer Kingdom.
IMAG0320
Within Angkor Thom is a Terrace of Elephants. The structures on it had all been degraded by nature except the platform which was used for the King to greet the returning victorious army.
IMAG0321
Another terrace used to have statues of animals and the 12 animals of the Chinese zodiac animals. Unfortunately, they have been looted.
20180216_112521-COLLAGE
Ta Prohm was a monastery in Angkor Thom. It is the only place that was better preserved. In 1992 it was included in the UNESCO world heritage list.
20180216_111357-COLLAGE
Ta Prohm is much left to how it was found. The only work is to prop it up at certain places. It is also the best-preserved structure of this area due to the nature of the forest trees that had grown around it. There are 2 types of trees that cause the coverage. The large ones are of silk-cotton tree (Ceiba pentandra) or thitpok Tetrameles nudiflora and the smaller ones are of strangler fig (Ficus gibbosa).[12] or gold apple (Diospyros decandra).

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amsterdam, the Netherlands

20171101_113611-PANO
Docks for boats going up the Rhine River.

Amsterdam was a small fishing village in the 12th century that turned into a major port city in the 17th century during the Dutch Golden Age.  Amsterdam has many water canals, not just for easy transport but also because Amsterdam is mostly under sea level.  The canals are the result of the dams and dikes that was built to hold off the flood water from the sea. The well-known windmills were energy source used to pump water back into the sea to keep the land dry.  Having to constantly balance the level of waters, the Dutch has created the modern water management system of today which is continuously updating as the rising sea level of global warming.

IMAG1530-COLLAGE
canal scenes

IMAG1490-ANIMATION

IMAG1492-COLLAGE
Amsterdam city scenes

 

Rijksmuseum is the national museum dedicated to the arts and history of Amsterdam.

20171102_102427
Front of Rijksmuseum

Other scenes within the museum.

Some interesting paintings on display at the museum.  We can see the progression of paintings from still portraits on the simple life and still objects to intricate brushwork, using white to bring out the lace and fabric; and later paintings showing actions and motions.

20171102_104308
The Milkmaid by Johannes Vermeer (1631-1675)
20171102_104542
Woman with a Child a the Pantry by Peter de Hooch (1629-1683)
20171102_105210
Still Life with a Turkey Pie by Peiter Claesz (1597-1660)
20171102_110247
Portrait of a Man by Frans Hals (1582-1666)
20171102_110813
History Scene with a Self Portrait by Rembrandt van Rijn (1606-1669) earlier work of Rembrandt and his head is to the right of the painting behind scepter.
IMAG1581
The Jewish Bride by Rembrandt in 1667
20171102_112106
Fishing for Souls by Adriaen Pietersz van de Venne (1589-1662) Catholics on the right and Protestants on the left of the painting.
20171102_113221
The Night Watch by Rembrandt van Rijn in 1642 famous for its lighting and as in motion.
20171102_114325
Syndics of the Drapers’ Guild by Rembrandt in 1662 a great collective portrait

 

Cologne, Germany

Cologne is the 4th largest city in Germany and the most populated city of the Rhine River.  Cologne had been a major trading route between east and west Europe.  The city was built by the Romans, occupied by the Holy Roman Empire, by the French during Napoleonic Era, and by the British briefly, after World War I.  During World War II, about 61% of the city was destroyed.  The cities pre-war Jewish population were either deported or killed.  The city’s six synagogues were destroyed.

Today’s Cologne was the result of the 1945 Cologne urban planning and 1947 reconstruction of the city.  The constructions of streets and thoroughfares to the city center help to modernize the city.  Some old landmarks were chosen to be rebuilt.  Cologne is a modern city with reflections of the old.

The Kolner Dom (The Cathedral Church of St Peter) is the tallest building second to the Telecommunication tower of 1981.  It is the landmark of Cologne which can be seen all around town.  It can hold more than 20,000 people.  Because it holds the shrine of the Three Wise Men and has impressive stain-glass windows, it was included in the UNESCO world heritage site.

Cologne Cathedral (Kolner Dom) most loved Gothic church build between 1248 and 1880.

Inside the cathedral and the stain-glass windows.

20171103_142019
Great St. Martin Church a Romanesque Catholic church built on the foundation of a Roman chapel. Was rebuilt in 1985.
20171103_150204
Cologne City Hall
20171103_145148
The Famous Farina House Cologne Shop founded in 1709. Made the first Cologne Fragrance known worldwide.

The bridges of Cologne:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The interesting town center of Cologne:

Lastly a refreshing beer.  Salute!20171103_153040

The Rhine Gorge

The Rhine Gorge, the Upper Middle Rhine Valley, is on the UNESCO list of World Heritage Sites due to its unique historical, cultural, geographical, and industrial combination.  This 65 kilometers of the waterway between Koblenz and Bingen had been a very important trading route for a long time before the railroads.  Because it was a major trading route and the center of Holy Roman Empire small towns and castles built along its banks.  Due to wars, the castles fell into ruins, however, the small towns pretty much stayed the same.

The Rhine Gorge waterway
Stolzenfels Castle
The Marksburg Castle
Electorial Castle (or Alte Burg, meaning Old Castle) is a 13th-century relic
The 13th century Saint Severus’s Church in Boppard
Feindliche Bruder (Enemy Brothers) Sterrenberg and Liebenstein
Burg Maus
Burg Katz above St. Goarshausen
Lorelei Rock (lore means murmuring in Rhine dialect and ley means rock in Roman.) is a slate rock protruding around the bend on Rhine River.  This type of rock is typical of Rhine Gorge which contains sediments and fossils.

Because the area water currents and the sound of a small waterfall in this area at the time caused an echoing effect, people named it the murmuring rock.  Plus the position of Lorelei protruding around the bank caused many boating accidents.  Stories were spin around these odd phenomena, such as elves living in the rock.   In 1801, Clemens Brentano composed a ballad about a beautiful maiden betrayed by her love, was accused of bewitching men and causing their death.  On her way to the nunnery to serve her sentence, from the top of Lorelei Rock she thought she saw her lover and plunge to death.  The story inspired many poems, songs, folklore, and even in the works of symphonies.

Near Lorelei sits this statue of the pretty maiden combing her hair and singing song to distract the sailors to crash into the Lorelei rock. Taking her revenge on sailorman.
Oberwesel, Martinsberg (Saint Martin’s Parish Church)
Town of Oberwesel. The Schonburg on top of the hill. Underneath is the Liebfrauenstraße (Church of Our Lady) and in the middle with black rooftop doom is, Wernerstraße: “Saint” Werner’s Chapel
Burg Gutenfels (Gutenfels Castle) of 1220 in the town of Kaub. Used to be a toll castle. along with Pfalzgrafenstein Castle
Pfalzgrafenstein Castle on an island behind up on the hill is Burg Gutenfels
Burg Stahleck) (Stahleck Castle)

The towns along the Gore stayed the same due to its livelihood which did not change much from ancient times.  Its special gorge climate and geographic condition especially the slopes facing south are a very good condition for a kind of terraced vineyards.  The wines from these vineyards are very special.

Other scenes of the Rhine Gorge.  Artists are attracted to this region and often drew inspiration from here for their creations.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Koblenz, Germany

Koblenz came from the Latin words which mean the convergence of two rivers, the Rhine and the Moselle.   Because of its strategic position on a major waterway, it was in a prime location to collect tolls and levy taxes on goods that were on the merchant ships passing by.  For this reason only, Koblenz had different occupants throughout its history.  With this, of course, came the largest fortress built between 1817 and 1828 and it is the best-preserved fortress in Europe on the Unesco World Heritage List of 2002. Ehrenbreitstein Fortress located on the hilltop east of the Rhine across from Koblenz.  It overlooks the old town of Koblenz and at the same time monitor the waterways of Rhine and Moselle.

The Fortress Ehrenbreitstein on the hilltop. and The Dikasterialgebaude at the foot of the hill, built in the mid 18th century in baroque castle style. Now it is used for offices.

The grounds of the fortress now houses several museums, exhibition halls, pubs, and a youth hostel.

View from the fort Ehrenbreitstein and the cable car ride.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The German Corner (Deutsche Eck) at the confluence of the Rhine and Moselle

This Statue of Kaiser Wilhelm I is a reconstruction of the old one which was destroyed during World War II.  This is his memorial in honor of his Unification of Germany after three years of war. The original one was erected in 1897 and this replacement was erected in 1993.  This has been a part of UNESCO world heritage “Upper Middle Rhine Valley” site since 2002

The Liebfrauenkirche (Church of Our Lady) built-in the 5th century on the highest point in the town of Koblenz on a Roman foundation.  Since that time it had been rebuilt and expanded on its original foundation.  For a time from late middle age to the French Revolution, it served as the church of Koblenz.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A walk around in the old town.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Some other interesting tidbits about Koblenz.

Schangel a symbol of Koblenz. on a manhole cover. It is a child born in the period when Koblenz was in allegiance with France or the German-France child. Designed in 1940 dedicated to the poet, Josef Cornelius who wrote the lyrics to the anthem of Koblenz
The Schangelbrunn fountain stands in Willi-HorterPlatz. It will pit out water at odd intervals to spray at the passer-bys.
Old Kauf und Danzhaus stands in St. Florin’s Market. It housed the Middle Rhine Museum until 2012. The head below the clock will roll its eyes to the beat of the pendulum and sticks out its tongue every 1/2 hour. It is a reminder of robber baron Lutter von Kobern”s execution in 1536
The New Koblenzer beer brewery. Koblenzer was first brewed in 1689 in the Historic center of Koblenz. But it has become a part of a brewery conglomerate.

 

Heidelberg, Germany

Heildelberg Castle Ruins is the landmark of Heidelberg.  It is one of the most important Renaissance structure north of the Alps.  It was built as a castle in the twelve hundreds.  After several natural and man-made destructions, the rebuilding and expansion resulted in a three castle structure and through several changes of ownership it fell in ruins.  Its position on the hillside is one of the reasons why it’s beauty charmed the romantics of the time.

20171105_112321
The view from Heidelberg Castle terrace of the Old Town, the Old Bridge(Karl Theodor Bridge), and the Church of Holy Spirit.
20171105_141619.jpg
Heidelberg Castle Ruins from Old Stone Bridge

Some scenes from the castle ruins.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Heidelberg Castle Ruin did not become a tourist attraction until the 19th century when the town is connected to the railroad system.  The American writer, Mark Twain got his inspiration for Huckleberry Finn here as well as “A Tramp Abroad”.The banks of Neckar River that inspired Mark Twain for his Huckleberry Finn

The banks of Neckar river

Heidelberg is a university town.  Heidelberg University founded in the 14th century, the oldest institution of higher education in Germany.  Students, from the university, make up a quarter of its population.  They bring in the vibrant vitality. innovation spirit, and idealistic vision which is unique to this town.  Heidelberg’s attraction is this unique blend of the old and the new.  Photos below show a variety of the old and the new.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Food anyone?